The Color Purple

You would think after seeing The Color Purple; one or two or 12 times that I wouldn’t cry while I watch it. But I tell you what, it was on the other day and I still cried! It doesn’t even matter where I begin to watch the movie. If I am flipping through the channels and happen to find it on, I’ll watch it, even if it is almost over.

I remember when I first saw the movie. I went with several friends. We didn’t say anything during the movie, but I can remember us all looking at each other while we were walking out and our eyes were all puffy from all the crying we did.

The Color Purple

The Color Purple

The Color Purple is a 1985 drama film directed by Steven Spielberg. It is the eighth film directed by Spielberg and is based on the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel of the same name by Alice Walker. The film tells the story of a young African American girl named Celie and shows the problems faced by African American women during the early 1900s; including poverty, racism and sex discrimination. The character Celie is transformed as she finds her self-worth through the help of two strong female companions.

Whoopi Goldberg as Celie Harris Johnson and Danny Glover as Mr. Albert Johnson and the rest of the cast did an outstanding job in the movie. And even though the film was nominated for eleven Academy Awards, including Best Picture, Best Actress for Goldberg and Best Supporting Actress for both Margaret Avery and Oprah Winfrey, it did not win any. And for Spielberg not even getting a nomination for best director… how could that have happened? The 1986 Oscar or Best Picture went to Out of Africa.

Probably my favorite part of the movies is towards the end when Shug Avery is at Harpo’s bar and starts to sing “Maybe God Is Trying To Tell You Somethin’”. I love this song and I cry every time I see it.

One Response

  1. 23 years later and I still cry EVERYTIME! For me it’s the “Momma Bundi!” part at the end when Celie meets her son for the first time. Un-believable!

    (I still cannot believe that this film received 11 Oscar noms and no wins!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

