Another Icon Has Passed Away: RIP Paul Newman

When I checked my e-mails this morning, I saw that Paul Newman has died.

Paul Leonard Newman (January 26, 1925 – September 26, 2008)was an American actor, film director, entrepreneur, humanitarian and auto racing enthusiast. He won numerous awards, including an Academy Award, two Golden Globe Awards, a Screen Actors Guild Award, a Cannes Film Festival Award, and an Emmy award, along with many honorary awards. — from Wikipedia

I remember as a kid, I went to the drive-in theater with my uncle, aunt and sister to see “The Sting” (1973). I was only seven years old, I really don’t remember much about the movie. I do remember sitting in the backseat of the car and eating popcorn. I remember hearing “The Entertainer” in the background.

Going through the list of movies that he made, I realized that I haven’t seen a lot of them. The ones that I did see were:

I think I knew more about Newman through his racing, his salad dressing and charity.

Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing, Newman’s Own and The Hole in the Wall Gang Camp (founded by Newman).

One thing on my Life To Do List is to see the classic movies. On this list will be some of his best movies like:

Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (1958), The Hustler (1961), Hud (1963), Cool Hand Luke (1967), Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969) and The Color of Money (1986)

It was hard trying to find a picture to put on this site. Young or old… he was a very good looking man. I would have to say that this is one of my favorite pictures of Paul Newman.

3 Responses

  1. Paul Newman is a legend for his work in movies, and he’s a stud for all his work outside of movies

  2. This image as well as many other of Paul Newman was taken by Leo Fuchs (www.leofuchs.com) and is available for sale at the Helios Gallery. We have modern reprints, limited edition prints and vintage prints of Rock Hudson in some of his best moments on and off the set, in real life and in many films.

    The website is http://www.theheliosgallery.com and http://www.leofuchs.com/pages/paul_newman_gallery1.htm

    The Helios Gallery
    http://www.theheliosgallery.com/servlet/StoreFront/

    Paul Newman Modern Prints
    http://www.theheliosgallery.com/servlet/the-Collectors-cln-Paul-Newman/Categories/

  3. I fail words to express my gratitude to you for all you have done.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

