“Singin’ in the Rain”

Last night I went saw “Singin’ in the Rain” (1952) for the first time at the theater celebrating the 60th anniversary of the movie. I am glad that I got to experience my first watching the movie at the theater.

“Singin’ in the Rain” (1952)

While I was sitting there waiting for the movie to start, I had to stop myself from Googling the movie. I had no idea what the movie was about. All I knew about the movie is that it starred Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor and Debbie Reynolds and that Gene Kelly sang and danced
Singin’ in the Rain.” Other than that, I was clueless on what the movie was about.

From the start of the movie, I had a big smile on my face. And whenever there was a close-up of Gene Kelly… it took my breathe away! He was so damn handsome in that movie. Seeing this movie, only made me love Gene Kelly even more.

Gene Kelly as Don Lookwood in “Singin’ in the Rain” (1952)

Beside it being one of the greatest musical, the movie has one of my all-time favorite songs in the world… “Singin’ in the Rain” sung by Gene Kelly.

 

 

I think, whenever I’m walking in the rain, I sing this song in my head. The other songs in the movie are not too shabby either, “Make ‘em Laugh” and “Good Morning“. Donald O’Connor was amazing when he sang and danced to “Make ‘em Laugh.”

I highly suggest that whenever one of the classic movies is playing at a local theater near you, go and see it. Check out Fathom EventsFathom and Turner Classic Movies, to see what’s coming to your local theater.

Upcoming movie are:

TCM Events Series Presents the following classics:

 

I’m going to be there!

2 Responses

  1. You are lucky to have a theater that shows classics. The first time I saw Gene Kelly was in The American in Paris and I just love him. He was so handsome and graceful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

