Oscar Pistorius

Week 1 of the 2012 Summer Olympics had lots of amazing stories of triumph and accomplishments. But one that stood out for me so far is  runner Oscar Pistorius.

Oscar Pistorius of South Africa competes in the Men’s 400m Round 1 (abcnews.go.com)

… South African sprint runner. Known as the “Blade Runner” and “the fastest man on no legs”, Pistorius, who has a double amputation, is the world record holder for class T44 in the 100, 200 and 400 metres events and runs with the aid of Cheetah Flex-Foot carbon fibre transtibial artificial limbs by Össur. He competes in T44 (single below knee amputees) events though he is actually classified in T43 (double below knee amputee).

On 4 August 2012 he became the first double leg amputee ever to participate in the Olympic Games when he entered the men’s 400 metres race. (from wikipedia.com)

I had heard of Oscar Pistorius before and was amazed by what he has done in his career. Kudos to the South African Olympic team for letting him be a member of the team and to run in two races at the Olympics. Everyone should live by his example of not giving up on your dreams.

This is from Twitter:

OscarPistorius I’d just like to thank everyone who has been supportive, tonight’s Olympic Semi-final was a dream come true for me! I am truly blessed! 20 minutes ago 

I’m looking forward to seeing what else in store for Oscar Pistorius.

Side note:

Oscar Pistorius – official website

www.oscarpistorius.com/

Oscar Pistorius – A South African paralympic athlete.

2 Responses

  1. Wow, that is not his weapon. His weapon is a gun. He is a murderer.

    • That post is from August 2012. I thought about this post after hearing and reading about what had recently happened.
      I was wondering should I delete it? Should I leave it on my blog? Would people be offended by it?
      When I posted in August 2012, who knew what the future was going to be like? At the time I wrote it, I did think he was a superstar. And he was at that time. What he is now?
      So my question is… when we post something about someone and somewhere down the road something bad happens to them, do we keep out posts on our blog or delete it from our blog?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

