Straight No Chaser

One of my favorites things to do on a Saturday night it watching the music specials that are on PBS. This Saturday, they showed two great concerts. The first on was Elvis, Aloha from Hawaii (1973) and Straight No Chaser in Concert.

I have seen Elvis, Aloha from Hawaii before and I still get chills when I hear him sing. If there was only one concert I could have ever see, it would have been that one.

But I really want to talk about Straight No Chaser. Where have I been that I have never heard of this group before? How could I miss a group of 10 men??

Large image of band

Straight No Chaser (SNC) is the name of a professional a cappella group, which originated in 1996 at Indiana University. In 2006, a 1998 video of “The 12 Days of Christmas,” gained widespread popularity and subsequently led to a five-album record deal with Atlantic Records in 2008. The YouTube video has been viewed over 16 million times.

The group formed in 1996 at Indiana University in Bloomington, Indiana. Together the 10 students — Dan Ponce (the founder), Randy Stine, Charlie Mechling, Steve Morgan, Jerome Collins, Dave Roberts, Walter Chase, Mike Itkoff, Patrick Hachey, and Kevin Carroll, became Straight No Chaser.

From Wikipedia.com

There was one singer that was really good (and cute) Mike Luginbill. So during the show, I had to Bing about the group and find out more.

Straight No Chaser performs their version of “12 Days” for the first time, December 7th, 1998, at Indiana University.  It has over 16 million hits on YouTube.com.

 

 

 

Here is another song by them, featuring Mike Luginbill, “Like A Prayer” by Madonna.

 

One more… “I’m Yours/Somewhere Over The Rainbow.”

 

 

I signed up for the bands newsletter and I noticed that they are going to be in San Antonio, Texas in October. I might just have to save my lunch money to see them in concert.

And thank you PBS for airing programs like this one!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

