Not That Song

You know that I usually post nice and positive things on my blog. But today, my post is about songs that grind my nerves!

Today song is “Sundown” (1974) by Gordon Lightfoot.

Gordon Lightfoot

I can tell within the first five seconds if the song, which song it is! My first reaction is to throw something at the radio to make it stop. Second is to think how much I really don’t like this song. Third is the change the channel.

Really not sure why I don’t like this song. I any know a handful of songs by Gordon Lightfoot. I like his other songs “If You Could Read My Mind” (1970) and “The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” (1976.) But for some reason, I have a major issues with this song.

Here are the lyrics for those who like this song so you can sing along.

Sundown” by Gordon Lightfoot

I can see her lyin’ back in her SATIN dress
In a room where ya do what ya don’t confess
Sundown ya better take care
If I find you been creepin’ ’round my back stairs
Sundown ya better take care
If I find you been creepin’ ’round my back stairs
She’s been lookin’ like a queen in a sailor’s dream
And she don’t always say what she really means
Sometimes I think it’s a shame
When I get feelin’ better when I’m feelin’ no pain
Sometimes I think it’s a shame
When I get feelin’ better when I’m feelin’ no pain

I can picture every move that a man could make
Getting lost in her lovin’ is your first mistake
Sundown ya better take care
If I find you been creepin’ ’round my back stairs
Sometimes I think it’s a sin
When I feel like I’m winnin’ when I’m losin again

I can see her lookin’ fast in her faded jeans
She’s a hard lovin’ woman, got me feelin’ mean
Sometimes I think it’s a shame
When I get feelin’ better when I’m feelin’ no pain
Sundown ya better take care
If I find you been creepin’ ’round my back stairs
Sundown ya better take care
If I find you been creepin’ ’round my back stairs
Sometimes I think it’s a sin
When I feel like I’m winnin’ when I’m losin’ again

©1973

Leave a Reply

