Shine by Collective Soul

Here is another song that when I hear the first view seconds of it I have to change it. “Shine” (1993) by Collective Soul.

 

 

Shine” is a song by the American post-grunge band Collective Soul. It served as the lead single from their 1993 debut album Hints, Allegations, and Things Left Unsaid. “Shine” would remain the band’s most well known song and a hallmark of 1990s alternative rock. (from Wikipedia.com)

I really can’t think of one specific reason I dislike this song so much, but I do. The beginning of the song, irratates me. The middle of the song too. And the end of the song can’t come fast enough. The sound of the lead singer’s voice… URRG!!

I was so happy that I was able to copy the embedded link from YouTube before the video started playing. Because once that music earwig gets in my head, especially a song I don’t like, it’s there all day!

Here are the lyrics to the song, if you feel the need to sing along.

“Shine” by Collective Soul

Give me a word – give me a sign
Show me where to look – tell me what will I find? (What will I find?)
Lay me on the ground and fly me in the sky
Show me where to look – tell me what will I find? (What will I find?)

Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down

Love is in the water – love is in the air
Show me where to look – tell me will love be there? (Will love be there?)
Teach me how to speak – teach me how to share
Teach me where to go – tell me will love be there? (Will love be there?)

Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down

Give me a word – give me a sign
Show me where to look – tell me what will I find? (What will I find?)
Lay me on the ground and fly me in the sky
Show me where to look – tell me what will I find? (What will I find?)

Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down
Oh – Heaven, let your light shine down

I’m gonna let it shine – I’m gonna let it shine
Heaven, let your light shine on me
Oh, yeah
Heaven, let your light shine on me

Shine
Shine on me, yeah
Shine
Come on and shine

Leave a Reply

