R.I.P. Roger Ebert

Well, another famous person that I grew up watching has died. Today,  famed film critic Roger Ebert has passed away at the age of 70, the Chicago Sun Times reports. The movie aficionado lost his battle with cancer after suffering on and off for many years.

Roger Ebert

(June 18, 1942 – April 4, 2013)

I remeber watching Siskel and Ebert and The Movies on the weekends when I was growing up. Most of the movies they review, I had never heeard of or watched, but it was fun watching Gene Siskel and Roger get into it sometimes. Then I watched him when he had a similiar show with Richard Roeper.

What I didn’t know anout Roger Ebert was that he was also a screenwriter. Ebert co-wrote the screenplay for the 1970 Russ Meyer film Beyond the Valley of the Dolls. When I found out the Ebert co-wrote the screenplay, I decieded to watch the movie. Hmmm… all I can say about the movie is that it was definetly from the 70’s and it was way out there. If you haven’t seen it, it is one of those cult movies that you need to watch. But don’t be expecting too much from it.

This was from People.com:

“We were getting ready to go home today for hospice care, when he looked at us, smiled, and passed away,” Roger’s wife of 20 years, Chaz Ebert, said Thursday in a statement, shortly after news broke of his death. “No struggle, no pain, just a quiet, dignified transition.”

I hope when my time comes, that I can smile and just pass away,

Thank you for all that you gave to the world. R.I.P. Roger Ebert. Now Gene and you can give “two thumbs up”, discuss and aruge about movies again.

“I’ll see you at the movies,” (were the last words Ebert wrote to his readers.)

If  a movie is really working, you forget for two hours your Social Security number  and where your car is parked. You are having a vicarious experience. You are  identifying, in one way or another, with the people on the  screen.
Roger  Ebert

Leave a Reply

