Monday, Monday

Usually on Mondays, I post about my 2-cents worth of Dancing with the Stars. But today, there was a lot of stuff that happened.

First, this morning, I got an alert that Margaret Thatcher died at the age of 82. She was the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom from 1979 to 1990. She was Britain’s first female PM.

Margaret Thatcher1

Margaret Thatcher (October 13, 1925 – April 8, 2013)

Then I got another text alert that Annette Funicello had died at the age of 70. She was popular “Mouseketeers” on the original Mickey Mouse Club. The as a teenager, she had a successful career as a singer with the pop singles “O Dio Mio,” “Tall Paul” and “Pineapple Princess“, then she became a film actress, staring in the “Beach Party” genre alongside co-star Frankie Avalon during the mid-1960s.

Annette Funicello (Young)

Annette Funicello (October 22, 1942 – April 8, 2013)

I remember her more from her movies. As a kid, I dreamed about being her and standing/singing next to Frankie Avalon. God, help me, but one of  my guilty pleasure movies is Back to the Beach (1987). How can you not get up and dance when you hear Annette Funicello & Fishbone sing “Jamaica Ska”.

Two women who had a major influence in history, in their own rights, passed away on the same day.

Tonight was also the championship NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Championship played in Atlanta, Georgia.

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-Michigan Practice

The teams plating were University of Louisville vs. University of Michigan. Since I was was born and raised in Michigan, I was rooting for Michigan. But since I lived in Louisville for three years, I wouldn’t have mind to see them win either. Louisville won the championship. So it was a draw on my part.

UofL

One of my favorite parts of NCAA March Madness is the ending of the tournament. it’s when CBS Sports plays “One Shining Moment” by Luther Vandross.

One Shining Moment” is a song written by David Barrett about the NCAA Men’s College Basketball Championship. One Shining Moment is traditionally played at the end of CBS Sports‘ coverage of the championship game of the tournament. The song is played as the winning team’s players cut down the nets, to a montage of highlights from the tournament. — From Wikipedia.com

Every time I have seen it, I tear up. I just love that song and  CBS Sports does a really great job with the video.

Thanks to ncaavideos2 for posting the video on YouTube.com.

So between these two show, I was also trying to watch Dancing with the Stars. Here are my picks for the night.

The team I liked and needs to win — Zendaya Coleman and  Valentin Chmerkovskiy

Zendaya Coleman and Valentin Chmerkovskiy - 2

The team that really needs to go home — Lisa Vanderpump and Gleb Savchenko

Lisa Vanderpump and Gleb Savchenko - 2

Best songs of the night:

Oh, I forgot, I was also trying to watch Dallas and The Voice during this time. My poor remote. Hopefully next Monday will be a little less crazy with no more basketball.

How was your Monday?

Leave a Reply

