R.I.P. George Jones

Here a post from January 24, 2009 about George Jones.

George Jones died on April 26, 2013 at the age of 81.

20130426-222449.jpg

George Jones – White Lightning

I wouldn’t say that I was a George Jones fan, I might I have a couple of his songs on my iPod. But after I saw the The Kennedy Center Honors and he was on of the honorees, I had to check out more of his songs. Garth Brooks sang “White Lightning” and there was something about that song that I liked.

Here is a little history on “White Lightning” (1959)

“White Lightning” is a song written by the late rockabilly artist J. P. Richardson, best known by his stage name, The Big Bopper.

The song was recorded by country music artist George Jones and later released it as a single.

On April 13, 1959, Jones’ version became the first Number One single of his career. The song has since been covered by numerous artists.

I have at least played it a dozen or more times since I found the song. And I just love watching the video.

Side note:
George Jones’ nickname was “The Possum,” a joke on Jones’ facial features.

Some of his hits included “She Thinks I Still Care,” “The Grand Tour,” “Walk Through This World With Me,” “Tender Years” and “He Stopped Loving Her Today.”

Thank you, George Jones for leaving us your wonderful music to listen to.

Leave a Reply

