The Worst That Could Happen

I am a fan of all types of music. Recently, I have been getting into Doo Wop music from the 50’s. There was a special on PBS — “Doo Wop 50” a couple of years ago and one of the groups on the show was Johnny Maestro and The Brooklyn Bridge. Now, I’m sure that I heard songs by them, but never really pay attention to who sang them or when they came out.

Johnny Maestro & The Brooklyn Bridge

But after I saw them on the special, I became a fan! Here is my favorite song by them, Jimmy Webb‘s “The Worst That Could Happen” (1968).

 

 

And for all of those who want to sing along to the song.

“The Worst That Could Happen” by Johnny Maestro & The Brooklyn Bridge

Girl, I heard you’re getting married
Heard you’re getting married, this time you’re really sure
And this is the end, they say you really mean it
This guy’s the one that makes you feel so safe, so sane and so secure
And, baby, if he loves you more than me
Maybe it’s the best thing
Maybe it’s the best thing for you
But it’s the worst that could happen to me

I’ll never get married
Never get married, you know that’s not my scene
But a girl like you needs to be married
I’ve known all along you couldn’t live forever in between
And, baby, if he loves you more than me
Maybe it’s the best thing
Maybe it’s the best thing for you
But it’s the worst that could happen to me

And, girl, I don’t really blame you for having a dream of your own
Hey, girl, I don’t really blame you
A woman like you needs a house and a home, baby
If he really loves you more than me
Maybe it’s the best thing
Maybe it’s the best thing for you
But it’s the worst that could happen

Oh, girl, don’t wanna get married
Girl, I’m never, never gonna marry, no no
No, it’s the worst that could happen
The worst that could happen
Oh, girl, the worst that could happen

Lyrics from http://www.elyrics.net

Side note:

Reached the Billboard Hot 100‘s top 40 (at #38) on 4 January 1969, peaking at #3 on 1-8 February 1969. (from Wikipedia.com)

From Songfact — Worst That Could Happen by Brooklyn Bridge

  • When Johnny Maestro (former lead singer of the Crests) put together an 11-piece band, his managers complained that it would be easier to sell the Brooklyn Bridge than to promote such a large ensemble. The name stuck.
  • The original version was recorded by The Fifth Dimension but it wasn’t a hit. The song appeared on an album as a medley with Wedding Bell Blues.

Official Site

Leave a Reply

