God Only Knows

There are many songs by The Beach Boys that I like.

One of my favorite songs by The Beach Boys is “God Only Knows” (1966). It has to be one of my Top 5 songs by The Beach Boys.

20130601-230524.jpg

“God Only Knows” is a 1966 song by American rock band The Beach Boys. It is the eighth track on the group’s 11th studio album, Pet Sounds, and one of their most widely recognized songs. “God Only Knows” was composed and produced by Brian Wilson with lyrics by Tony Asher and lead vocal by Carl Wilson. — From Wikipedia.com

There are many reasons why I like this song. But I think the number one reason I like it is because Carl Wilson is the lead singer of the song. He have always love Carl Wilson and his voice when he sang.

Just in case you want to sing along to the video.

God Only Knows
By The Beach Boys

I may not always love you
But long as there are stars above you
You never need to doubt it
Ill make you so sure about it

God only knows what I’d be without you

If you should ever leave me
Though life would still go on believe me
The world could show nothing to me
So what good would living do me

God only knows what I’d be without you

God only knows what I’d be without you

If you should ever leave me
Well life would still go on believe me
The world could show nothing to me
So what good would living do me

God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you

Side notes:
From Songfacts.com

Brian Wilson planned to sing the lead vocal himself, but decided that his brother Carl was better suited for the track. “I was looking for a tenderness and a sweetness which I knew Carl had in himself as well as in his voice,” said Brian.

According to The Guardian’s 1000 Songs Everyone Must Hear, Brian Wilson and Tony Asher took only 15 minutes to compose this number.

The Beatles’ “Here, There And Everywhere” was inspired by this song. John Lennon and Paul McCartney heard Pet Sounds at a party and went back to Lennon’s house to write it. Paul McCartney once called “God Only Knows” “The greatest song ever written.”

Leave a Reply

