20-Year Old Songs

You know how much I love lists. I was checking out my newsfeeds and I found this one — 20 Songs You Can’t Even Believe Are 20 Years Old, that was in the Rolling Stone magazine.

Needless to say, I was a little shocked that these songs were already 20 years old. How could that be? It just seems like yesterday I was adding them to my iTunes library. And when I think of “oldies”, I think of songs from the 50’s, 60’s and the 70’s. Not the 90’s!!

20 Songs You Can’t Even Believe Are 20 Years Old

By Pat Pemberton | Rolling Stone – Fri, Jun 21, 2013 2:58 PM EDT

Remember that dancing bee girl from Blind Melon’s “No Rain” video? She’s 30. That won’t mean much to incoming college freshmen, who weren’t even alive during Kurt Cobain‘s lifetime. But for those who wore flannel shirts and watched that new show Late Night with Conan O’Brien in 1993, it might seem like someone hit life’s skip-forward button.

As Gen X-ers wonder how they became middle-aged so soon, here are 20 tunes they can’t fathom are 20 years old.

  • “Loser” by Beck
  • “It Was a Good Day” by Ice Cube
  • “All Apologies” by Nirvana
  • “Who Am I (What’s My Name?)” by Snoop Doggy Dogg
  • Runaway Train” by Soul Asylum
  • “No Rain” by Blind Melon
  • “Creep” by Radiohead
  • “I Will Always Love You” by Whitney Houston
  • “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” by the Proclaimers
  • “Whoomp (There It Is)” by Tag Team
  • “What’s Up?” by 4 Non Blondes
  • “I Would Do Anything for Love (But I Won’t Do That)” by Meat Loaf
  • “Insane in the Membrane” by Cypress Hill
  • “Soul to Squeeze” by Red Hot Chili Peppers
  • “Whatta Man” by Salt-n-Pepa With En Vogue
  • “Are You Gonna Go My Way?” by Lenny Kravitz
  • “Plush” by Stone Temple Pilots
  • “Mr. Jones” by Counting Crows
  • “Jeremy” by Pearl Jam
  • “Cryin'” by Aerosmith

I was just listening to “Jeremy” by Peral Jam and it doesn’t sound like a song that is 20 years old!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

