Bo Jackson

The other night, I was watching “30 for 30” on ESPN. The show was on Bo Jackson. I was glued to my TV watching it. I even rewind during the commercials to watch what I just watched. I forgot how much I like(d) Bo Jackson.

Bo Jackson

It was a very interesting show and I even learned some things that I didn’t know about Bo Jackson.

You Don’t Know Bo (December 8, 2012)

A profile of Bo Jackson and how his feats in two sports (baseball and football) captured the public’s imagination and made Jackson a cultural (and marketing) icon. 

Vincent Edward “Bo” Jackson (born November 30, 1962) is a retired American baseball and football player. He is the only athlete to be named an All-Star in two major American sports. He won the Heisman Trophy in 1985. In football, Jackson played running back for the Los Angeles Raiders of the National Football League. In baseball, he played left field and was a designated hitter for the Kansas City Royals, Chicago White Sox, and Anaheim Angels of the American League in Major League Baseball.

From Wikipedia.com

 The show talked about his playing, both in the NFL and MLB. They had stories from former players and media. They talked about the Mike ads that he was in. While I was watching that ad, I got all giddy like the very first time I watched it.

Here are some other sites to learn more Bo Jackson:

 If you haven’t had the chance to see any of the “30 for 30” shows, you really need to. The ones that I have seen are worth the time to watch them.

 30 for 30 is the umbrella title for a series of documentary films airing on ESPN and its sister networks. The first volume, which premiered in October 2009 and concluded in December 2010, chronicles 30 stories from the “ESPN era,” which then extended 30 years from the network’s founding in 1979, each of which detail the issues, trends, people, teams, or events that transformed the sports landscape since the sports network was founded in 1979.

 

Leave a Reply

