Cinnamon Apple Rings

Do you remember Cinnamon Apple Rings that were served with your school lunches?

20130728-211331.jpg

I don’t think I ever ate those little red apple rings that came with my lunch. I saw them more as something that took the space of an extra serving of mashed potatoes or a cookie.

I’m sure there was a reason that the cafeteria workers served us those nasty little apple rings. But could they really be considered a fruit?

Even after looking up pictures and recipes of Cinnamon Apple Rings, I still don’t think I will ever try them. I think I have post traumatic food syndrome for all those years of them being served to me.

Just in case, you like Cinnamon Apple Rings, here is a recipe just for you.

Red Cinnamon Apple Rings

I have been making these for Thanksgiving for my family for about 20 years. Simple, delicious and colorful too!

Shared by Hound, Louisville, KY

Ingredients

3 lb. apples
1 C. water
2 C. sugar
1/3 C. red cinnamon candies (Red Hots)
Few drops red food coloring

Directions

Combine all of the above ingredients except the apples in a skillet to make a syrup. Pare and core apples (Rome seems to work best). Slice into 1/2-inch rings. Cook apple rings in covered skillet in syrup until tender.

From: © 2013 Recipe4Living

Leave a Reply

