Alice

For some reason this morning, I woke up with this theme song in my head.

“There’s a New Girl in Town”, music by David Shire, lyrics by Alan Bergman and Marilyn Bergman; performed by Linda Lavin. Several different arrangements of this tune were used throughout the series’. (from wikipedia.com)

 

 

I have no idea why I was thinking about the theme song from “Alice“. I haven’t seen the show years and I have not seen or heard anything anout the cast of the show.

Since I looked up the video, I thought I would post a little about the show.

Alice is an American sitcom television series that ran from August 31, 1976 to March 19, 1985 on CBS. The series is based on the 1974 film Alice Doesn’t Live Here Anymore.The show stars Linda Lavin in the title role, a widow who moves with her young son to start her life over again, and finds a job working at a roadside diner on the outskirts of Phoenix, Arizona. Most of the episodes revolve around events at Mel’s Diner. (From wikipedia.com)

The cast of the show:

Oh, how I loved Philip McKeon! I wonder where he is at now? (That will be a future post.)

Other sites to visit anout “Alice”:

And just in case you want to sing along with the video, here are the lyrics.

There’s a New Girl in Town” by Alan and Marilyn Bergman & David Shire

Season 1 &2

Early to rise, early to bed.

In and between I cooked and cleaned and went out of my head.

Going through life with blinders on, it’s tough to see.

I had to get up, get out from under and look for me.

*There’s a new girl in town and she’s looking good.

*There’s a fresh freckled face, in the neighborhood.

There’s a new girl in town, with a brand new style.

She was just passing through,

but if things work out she’s gonna stay awhile….ba ba bum bum bummmm

(the two short versions omitted the lines marked with a *)

 

Season 3 & 5

Used to be sad, used to be shy

Funniest thing, the saddest part is I never knew why…

Kickin’ myself for nothin’ was my favorite sport

I had to get out and start enjoyin’ ’cause life’s too short

There’s a new girl in town, ’cause I’m feelin good.

Get a smile, get a song, for the neighborhood

there’s a new girl in town on her own two feet

and this girl’s here to say

with some luck and love life’s gonna be

so sweeeeeeeeeet!

 

Season 4

I used to be sad, I used to be shy

Funniest thing, the saddest part is I never knew why…

Kickin’ myself for nothin’ was my favorite sport

I had to take off, start enjoyin’ ’cause life’s too short

There’s a new girl in town, ’cause I’m feelin good.

Get a smile, get a song, for the neighborhood

Things are great when you stand on your own two feet

and this girl’s here to say

with some luck and love life’s gonna be

so sweeeeeeeeeet!

 

Season 6-9

I used to be sad, I used to be shy

Funniest thing, the saddest part is I never knew why…

Kickin’ myself for nothin’ was my favorite sport

I had to take off, start enjoyin’ ’cause life’s too short

There’s a new girl in town, ’cause I’m feelin good.

Get a smile, get a song, for the neighborhood

Things are great when you stand on your own two feet

and this girl’s here to say

with some luck and love life’s gonna be

so sweeeeeeeeeet!

 

From STLyrics.com

 

 

One Response

  1. I used to love watching that show I miss all those good old shows

Leave a Reply

