Schoolhouse Rock

The other day I posted a list about growing up in the 70’s. One that I liked was

Schoolhouse Rock played a HUGE part in how you learned things like grammar, math and history. (A big hint here is if the only way you can recite the Preamble to the Constitution is by singing it.)

I laughed out loud, because I knew how true that was. Here is one of my favorites — A Noun Is A Person, Place Or Thing (1973) by Lynn Ahrens.

Here are the words, just in case your forgot them.

A NOUN IS A PERSON, PLACE, OR THING
(Lynn Abrams)

Well every person you can know
And every place that you can go
And any thing that you can show
You know they’re nouns
A noun’s a special kind of word
It’s any name you ever heard
I find it quite interesting
A noun is a person place or thing.
Oh I took a train took a train
to another state
The flora and the fauna that I saw
were really great.
When I saw some bandits chasing the train
I was wishing I was back home again.
I took a train took a train
to another state.

Well every person you can know
Like a bandit or an engineer
And every place that you can go
Like a state or a home
And any thing that you can show
Like animals and plants or a train
You know they’re nouns
You know they’re nouns.

Oh, Mrs. Jones is a lady
on Hudson Street.
She sent her dog to bark
at my brother and me.
We gave her dog a big fat bone
And now he barks at Mrs. Jones
She’s a lady who lives on Hudson Street

Well every person you can know
Mrs. Jones, a lady or a brother
And every place that you can go
Like a street or a corner
And anything that you can show
Like a dog or a bone
You know they’re nouns
You know they’re nouns.

I took a ferry to the Statue of Liberty.
My best friend was waiting there for me.
(He took an early ferry).
We went for a walk on the island you know
And in the middle of summer
It started to snow.
I took a ferry to the Statue of Liberty.

Well every person you can know
Like a friend or the captain of a ship
And every place that you can go
An island or a sea
And anything that you can show
Like a statue, a ferry or snow
You know they’re nouns
You know they’re nouns.

Oh I put a dime in the drugstore
record machine.

Oldie-goldies started playing
if you know what I mean.
I heard Chubby Checker
he was doing the twist
And the Beatles and the Monkees
it goes like this.
I put a dime in the drugstore record machine.

Well every person you can know
The Beatles and the Monkees, Chubby Checker
And every place that you can go
Like a neighborhood or a store
And anything that you can show
Like a dime or a record machine
You know they’re nouns.

A noun’s a special kind of word
It’s any name you ever heard
I find it quite interesting
A noun’s a person, place or thing.
A noun is a person, place or thing.

Lyrics from International Lyrics Playground

Side note: I can’t remember what I wore or ate last week, but I can sing this and many other Schoolhouse Rock songs with no problem!

Leave a Reply

