Long, Live The King

Elvis, starring Elvis Presley, is United States television special that aired on December 3, 1968 on the NBC television network. The special is commonly referred to as the '68 Comeback Special.

Elvis, starring Elvis Presley, is United States television special that aired on December 3, 1968 on the NBC television network. The special is commonly referred to as the ’68 Comeback Special.

Well, it’s been 37 years since Elvis Presley died and I still remember where I was when I heard that he died.

I was 10 years old and I was in the family room of the house that I grew up in. We had a huge console TV/Record Player/Radio that I was sitting in front of, playing around with the controls, like my mom told me not to do. Then there was an announcement that Elvis Presely, “the King of Rock and Roll”, had died. I remember just sitting there in shock, I don’t think I cried, I was just sad.

I remember after he died, I got a couple of Elvis book, newspaper articles and The National Enquirer that had a story about his life.

As I mentioned before, I did go to Elvis Week in 1997. It was the 20th anniversary of his death and I was one of thousands of Elvis fans there at Gracekand and Memphis to celebrate him.

This was posted on MSN Entertainment:

Thousands honor Elvis Presley at Graceland vigil
Aug. 16, 2013, 6:59 AM EST

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) — Elvis Presley fans from around the world made their annual pilgrimage to Graceland on Thursday to pay their respects to the rock n’ roll icon with a solemn candlelight vigil on the 36th anniversary of his death.

Thousands of Presley fans carried lit candles as they walked silently through the Mediation Garden at Graceland, Presley’s longtime Memphis home. The garden is the location of Presley’s grave and also is the spot where his mother, father and grandmother are buried.

Wreaths of flowers and pictures of Presley encircled the grave, while shadows cast by the glowing candles danced along the stone wall surrounding the garden. Soft music played in the mild night, as some in the procession bowed their heads or cried quietly.

I remember when I was there, I sat at  the Mediation Garden at  Graceland. It was so peaceful there, watching all of his fans pay their respects.

It is my plan to go to another Elvis Week. But until then… Long Live The King!

Leave a Reply

