Maxine Nightingale

The other day, I was watching a show on PBS about music from the 70’s and they had Maxine Nightingale.

Nightingale on the Dutch TV program The Eddy Go Round Show, 1976

Nightingale on the Dutch TV program The Eddy Go Round Show, 1976

So, of course I had to BING Maxine Nightingale to get the 411 on her and here is what I found out.

Maxine Nightingale (born 2 November 1952; Wembley, London) is a British R&B and soul music singer. She is best known for her hits in the 1970s, with the million seller “Right Back Where We Started From” (1975, U.K. & 1976, U.S.), “Love Hit Me” (1977), and “Lead Me On” (1979). (From Wikipedia.com).

First of all, I only ever heard two songs by her: “Right Back Where We Started From” (1975) and “Lead Me On” (1979).

Second, I didn’t know she was English?

Here is my favorite song by her. I’ve included the lyrics just in case you want to sing along.

Maxine Nightingale
Right Back Where We Started From

Songwriters: Tubbs, Pierre / Edwards, J Vincent

Ooh, and it’s alright an it’s coming on
We gotta get right back to where we started from
Love is good, love can be strong
We gotta get right back to where we started from

Do you remember the day (that sunny day)
When you first came my way
I said, no one could take your place
And if you get hurt (if you get hurt)
By the little things I say
I can put that smile back on your face

Ooh, and it’s alright and it’s coming on
We gotta get it right back to where we started from
Love is good, love can be strong
We gotta get it right back to where we started from

A love like ours (a love like ours)
Can never fade away
You know it’s only just begun
You gave me your love (gave me your love)
I just can’t stay away, no, no
I know you are the only one

Ooh, and it’s alright and it’s coming on
We gotta get it right back to where we started from
Love is good, love can be strong
We gotta get it right back to where we started from

You gave me your love (gave me your love)
I just can’t stay away, no
I know you are the only one

Ooh, you know it’s alright and it’s coming on
We gotta get it right back to where we started from
Love is good, love can be strong
We gotta get it right back to where we started from

It’s alright and it’s coming on
We gotta get it right back to where we started from
Love is good, love can be strong
We gotta get it right back to where we started from

It’s alright and it’s coming on
We gotta get it right back to where we started from
Love is good, love can be strong
We gotta get it right back to where we started from

 
From

 
Offical website:
maxinenightingale.biz
Leave a Reply

