Hellman’s Real Mayonniase

As long as I can remember, we have always been a Kraft Mayonniase family. Every once in awhile, we would get a jar of Miracle Whip (usually by mistake) and suffer eating it. But most of the time, it was Kraft.

The other day, I looked in the cabinet and saw a jar of Hellman’s Real Mayonniase. I thought to myself, who in the world brought this?Well, I know who did, my father. I swear, whenever he goes shopping and they have samples of food they are trying to sell, he buys it! We have had some interesting stuff in the cabinets lately.

While I was making my sandwich, I noticed the recipe for Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake. I think my sister made this once when we were growing up as part of a school project. I just thought it was weird having a cake made with mayonnaise! But I’m sure I ate it at the time.

So now that we have it in the house again, I think I’m going to be adventurous and make it. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

Chocolate Mayonnaise Cake

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise
  • 1 1/3 cups water

Directions

  1. 1. Preheat oven to 350°. Grease and lightly flour two 9-inch round cake pans*; set aside.
  2. In medium bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and baking powder; set aside.
  3. In large bowl, with electric mixer at high speed, beat eggs, sugar and vanilla for 3 minutes or until light and fluffy. Beat in Hellmann’s® or Best Foods® Real Mayonnaise at low speed until blended. Alternately beat in flour mixture with water, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Pour into prepared pans.
  4. Bake 30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. On wire racks, cool 10 minutes; remove from pans and cool completely. Frost, if desired, or sprinkle with confectioners sugar.
  • *Or, prepare cake mix as above in 13 x 9-inch baking pan and bake 40 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
Leave a Reply

