HughesNet Service

20130928-181942.jpg

Since I live outside of an area that had cable Internet service, I had to pick HughesNet satellite as my Internet service provider.

To say the least, I am so disappointed with the Internet service they provide and the customer service.

After my 5th call to them regarding me trying to download a 1 GB file, which is over my allowed 250 MB daily download, here are the options they gave me.

Download the file during “The Free Zone” from 2:00 a.m. to 7:00 a.m. She even said that I wake up at 6:00 a.m. that I can download that file. I can barely get to the bathroom at that time, more less download a file.

Or, to use the Download Manager to use the tokens to download… blah, blah, blah

So they told me some things to do to reset the router and restart my computer and unhook the wireless modem, wait for the five blinky blue lights…

The customer service person told me it should not take more than 2 hours to download a 1 GB file.

I told her that I will do all that was asked and I will post it in my blog to let everyone know the type of service HughesNet provides.

So I unplugged everything. Waited the 30 seconds. Started everything up and started the download again. (Five blinky blue lights in.)

Time started 6:12 p.m.
1.05 GB, time to download 79 minutes

Update at 6:17 p.m.
114.5 MB downloaded, 73 minutes

Update at 6:21p.m.
151.4 MB downloaded, 77minutes
(How the heck did my time increase??)

Update at 6:27 p.m.
189.7 MB downloaded, 85 minutes

Update at 6:33 p.m.
218.7 MB downloaded, 73 minutes

Update at 7:17 p.m.
Error Message — Download stopped

Update at 7:18 p.m.
1.05 GB download, 10 hours

Update at 7:20 p.m.
I GIVE UP!

I tried to call HughesNet again and it took me at least 7 menus to be put on hold for the next representative.

I’m going to get up at 2:00 a.m. and see what happens.

But if I get the same old crap at that that time… guess it’s time for me to find another Internet service provider.

That’s all I need!

Thanks for nothing, HughesNet.

Leave a Reply

