Beetlejuice

20131103-133512.jpg

A couple of posts ago, I blogged about how it’s been 20 years since “Hocus Pocus” came out.

And just last week, it was mentioned that it’s been 25 years since “Beetlejuice” came out!!

Beetlejuice is a 1988 American fantasy film directed by Tim Burton, produced by The Geffen Film Company and distributed by Warner Bros. The plot revolves around a recently deceased young couple (Alec Baldwin and Geena Davis) who become ghosts haunting their former home and an obnoxious, devious “bio-exorcist” named Beetlejuice (Michael Keaton) from the underworld who tries to scare away the new inhabitants (Catherine O’Hara, Jeffrey Jones, and Winona Ryder) permanently. (From Wikipedia.)

This is one of my go to movies to watch over and over again. Michael Keaton has always been one of my favorite actors and I just love him and his role of Beetlejuice.

There are a lot of good quotes from that movie, some of them I still use now.

Beetlejuice: “Because if I tell you [my name], you tell your friends… your friends are calling me on the horn all the time, And I gotta show up at shopping centers for openings and sign autographs and shit like that and it makes my life a hell. Okay? A living hell.”

Beetlejuice: “I’m the ghost with the most, babe.”

Beetlejuice: “Ooh, la, la. What do we got here? The Maitlands, uh? Cute couple. Look nice and stupid, too.”

Beetlejuice: “I’m feeling a little, ooh, anxious if you know what I mean. It’s been about six hundred years after all. I wonder where a guy, an everyday Joe like myself, can find a little *action*.”

Beetlejuice: “I’m Lydia Deetz and I’m of sound mind; my answer is yes, I love that man of mine.”

Adam: “What are your qualifications?”
Beetlejuice: “Ah. Well… I attended Juilliard… I’m a graduate of the Harvard business school. I travel quite extensively. I lived through the Black Plague and had a pretty good time during that. I’ve seen the EXORCIST ABOUT A HUNDRED AND SIXTY-SEVEN TIMES, AND IT KEEPS GETTING FUNNIER EVERY SINGLE TIME I SEE IT… NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT YOU’RE TALKING TO A DEAD GUY… NOW WHAT DO YOU THINK? You think I’m qualified?”

Check out this website about little known facts about Beetlejuice.

13 Facts You Didn’t Know About “Beetlejuice”

Oh, man, now I feel a little anxious to watch this movie again!!

One Response

  1. That’s Crazy! Time Flies Doesn’t It! Two of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

