I Smell Cake* – 2015

I have been a believer that famous people/celebrities die in three’s. Well, we have started 2015 with three famous people/celebrities in their own rights who have past away.

January 1
Mario Cuomo

(June 15, 1932 – January 1, 2015) was an American politician and member of the Democratic Party. He served as the 52nd Governor of New York for three terms, from 1983 to 1994, Lieutenant Governor of New York from 1979 to 1982; and Secretary of State of New York from 1975 to 1978.
From Wikipedia.com

image

There are certain politicians that I remember and Mario Cuomo was one of them. There was something about him that made you want to listen to him. When they were walking about him in the morning shows, they showed clips of his speech at the 1984 Democratic National Convention. I might have to see if that is on YouTube so I can watch it again.

January 2
Donna Douglas

(September 26, 1933 – January 1, 2015) was an American actress, best known for her role as Elly May Clampett in the CBS series The Beverly Hillbillies (1962–1971).
From Wikipedia.com

image

I watched “The Beverly Hillbillies” when I was growing up. I wouldn’t say I was a huge fan of the show, but I watched them. Ellie Mae was fun to watch. I think every little girl wanted to be just like her.

“Little” Jimmy Dickens

(December 19, 1920 – January 2, 2015), better known as Little Jimmy Dickens, was an American country music singer famous for his humorous novelty songs, his small size, 4’11”, and his rhinestone-studded outfits. He started as a member of the Grand Ole Opry in 1948 and became a member of the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1983.
From Wikipedia.com

image

I remember when I was growing up in Flint, Michigan,  we would go see The Grand Old Opry concert at the I.M.A. – Downtown. He was a try entertainer and I can see why he was liked by so many.

R.I.P.
You will be remembered for enlighting and entertaining us.

*“My Cake” is the sixth episode of Scrubs’ fourth season. J.D.‘s father dies and he and his brother Danhave to cope with it.

“I smell cake! If Uncle Bernie died, someone’s gonna have to go on a beer run!”— Dan Dorian

Leave a Reply

