I Smell Cake*

R.I.P. Dick Van Patten

One of my favorite TV dad’s past away yesterday. I remember watching that show when I was a kid and wishing that I was part of that family.


The theme song to that show is one of my all-time favorite theme songs. It’s funny the things you remember when you were a kid and how something like this brings back all those memories.

It seems that more of those famous people that I grew up watching on TV are getting older and passing away. But thankfully we have the Internet, YouTube and other ways of watching our favorites over and over again.

Here is some advise Dick Van Patten gave Willie Aames.

“He said, ‘Remember today. Remember what you are doing. Time is short and these really are the good old days.’ “

* My brother, Joe and I would always say this to each other after someone famous died.

“I smell cake! If Uncle Bernie died, someone’s gonna have to go on a beer run!”— Dan Dorian

“My Cake” is the sixth episode of Scrubs’ fourth season. J.D.’s father dies and he and his brother Dan have to cope with it.

Leave a Reply

