It’s Been One Year

 Joe M. Garza

(July 24, 1968 – August 28, 2015)

 
Hard to believe it’s been a year since my little brother, Joe M. Garza died. 

Lord knows that boy could press my buttons and get me going. But how I would give anything to have him back. 

The year of firsts is behind us now. First birthdays, holidays, anniversaries and special occasions. Now we are to the first year of you  being gone. 

Just recently, after talking with our cousin, Emma, did I feel a little comfort, relief, happiness since you died. Oh, it still hurts, but I can make it a couple of days, weeks without being too sad. 

I know you are with our Mom, just having a grand old time. I came in last place compared to our sister, Cynthia; being my Mom’s favorite. I’ve always been cool with that. They deserved it. Now I know they are together in heaven and that does give me some peace. 

Found this poem and changed it a little. (Thank you and sorry to the person who wrote it.)

Missing You

There is so much I wish to say

I think about you every day

I miss your laugh

I miss your smile

Neither lost nor forgotten…

I imagine them often

It just doesn’t seem real that you’re not around

I still look for you when I’m in town…

I’ll never forget on the 4th of July…

As I sat on the curb, tears filled my eyes….

I found myself looking for you…..

Until I realized what was true…

I will never again see your wave and your smile…

We won’t stand on the street and visit for a while…

No “how you doing Sis” with a big hug to follow….

No “what are you doing tonight” or “I’ll see ya tomorrow”…

All of these things, I cherish so dearly …

In my heart, I remember so clearly…

I still talk to you …

I know you can hear me…

Today I spoke of you and before I finished my sentence….

I could feel your presence…

Then .. a coincidence, or was it a sign?

The song that reminds me of you began to play (“Frer Bird”)…

As If you knew I was thinking of you this day…

I smiled.. feeling you were there with me …

Again… I sat remembering…

Tears filled my eyes as I listened to the song.

But this time I accepted that you are gone.

One year later..

Seems like forever….

I’ve asked myself and I’ve talked to God…..

How could he take you away for so long?

The only answer that makes any sense is ….

You’re in God’s hands now… 

As he planned

Watching us from above…

An Angel in heaven who will always be loved.

Joe… Till we meet again in heaven. Take care of Mom, give her a big kiss and hug from me. I’ll be OK. I’m getting there one breathe at a time. 

I love you, little brother. 

  

Leave a Reply

