Chart Flashback 1988

Chart Flashback is one of my favorite things in my Entertainment Weekly magazine. This week’s Chart Flashback is from 1988.

Hard to believe that these songs out 27 years ago. I remember I was living in Brockton, Massachusetts  in 1988 and it seemed every time I was in my car, “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” would be playing. And when I hear Taylor Dayne sing “I’ll Always Love You”, I would be singing (badly) along with her. Or when every I would hear “Red Red Wine”, it drove me bonkers. I really didn’t care for that song.

The good old days. Do you remember any of these songs from 1988?

• “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” by Bobby McFerrin
• “Love Bites” by Def Leppard
• “I’ll Always Love You” by Taylor Dayne
• “One Good Woman” by Peter Cetera
• “Red Red Wine” by UB40
• “Don’t Be Cruel” by  Cheap Trick
• “Sweet Child O’ Mine” by Guns N’ Roses
• “I Hate Myself For Loving You” by Joan Jett and The Blackheads
• “Simply Irresistible” by Robert Palmer
• “What’s On Your Mind (Pure Energy)” by Information Society

Looking forward to the next Chart Flashback from my Entertainment Weekly magazine.

Leave a Reply

