A Twofer

Today I have the Sing of the Day and Did You Know That?

“Fooled Around and Fell in Love” by blues guitarist Elvin Bishop.

This song would be on my Top 500 favorite songs list. But after Googling it, I was shocked to learn that Elvis Bishop did not sing the song but Micky Thomas (who would become the lead singer for Jefferson Starship.)

Why I’m I just learning about this? Does everyone know this little bit of trivia that I didn’t know?

“Fooled Around and Fell in Love” is a single by blues guitarist Elvin Bishop. It appeared on his 1975 album Struttin’ My Stuff and was released as a single the following year. Bishop does not sing lead vocals on the track; feeling that his gravelly voice wouldn’t do the song justice, he invited vocalist Mickey Thomas, who was a background singer in his band at the time, to sing it. (From Wikipedia.com)

So after finding out this piece of valuable information that I did no know, I searched for a video of the song. And yep, right there on YouTube was a video of the song with Elvin Bishop playing guitar and Mickey Thomas singing.

I’m still I’m shock! How come I never never knew this? What eles have I missed? Besides my “Bucket List”, maybe I should have a list of “Things Sylvia Did Not Know.”

Whatever, I’ll look at this as something new that I learned and learning is good.

So here is the song by Elvin Bishop sung by Mickey Thomas.

“Fooled Around And Fell In Love” by Elvin Bishop

I must have been through about a million girls
I’d love ’em then I’d leave ’em alone
I didn’t care how much they cried, no sir
Their tears left me cold as a stone

But then I fooled around and fell in love
I fooled around and fell in love, yes I did
I fooled around and fell in love
I fooled around and fell in love

It used to be when I’d see a girl that I liked
I’d get out my book and write down her name
Ah, but when the, the grass got a little greener on the other side
I’d just tear out that page

I fooled around and fell in love
I fooled around and fell in love, since I met you baby
I fooled around and fell in love
I fooled around and fell in love

Free, on my own is the way I used to be
Ah, but since I met you baby, love’s got a hold on me
It’s got a hold on me now
I can’t let go of you baby

I fooled around and fell in love
I fooled around and fell in love, oh yes I did
I fooled around, fooled around, fooled around, fooled around,
Fooled around, fooled around, fell in love
Fooled around, fooled around, fooled around, fooled around,
Fooled around, fooled around, fell in love
I fooled around, fell in love
I fell in love, I fell in love, yes I did

(Lyrics from Lyricfreak.com)

Leave a Reply

