My Mom, Lydia M. Garza

Today post is similar to the one I posted since 2011 at this time. But I still feel the same exact way.

I miss you Mom and I love you so much!

20130110-190348.jpg

Lydia M. Garza (1940 – 2010)

January 10, 2016, it’s been six years since my mom, Lydia M. Garza died. It’s hard to believe that it has already been six years. Sometimes it feel longer and other times it feels like it just happened.

My life changed on January 10, 2010. I never knew that you could miss a person so much. This was the person who could make me happy, make me sad and make me mad. Oh, how she could press the buttons to set me off. What do they say, she knew what buttons to push because she put them there?

There are days when I can get through it without getting too sad when I think of you. But then there are other days when all I want to do is hide under my blankets. But on those days when I have happy memories of you, it makes me smile. Like when I made your Green Jell-O for the holidays. Or when I was going through all the treads you had for your sewing… did you really need all those different colors of white thread??

Today, my dad and I went to visit my mom at Fort Sam Houston National Cemetery.

Until we meet again mom, I miss you and I you more that I can say! And give Joe a hug from me too.

IF ROSES GROW IN HEAVEN

If roses grow in Heaven Lord
Please pick a bunch for me.
Place them in my Mother’s arms
and tell her they’re from me.
Tell her I love her and miss her,
and when she turns to smile,
Place a kiss upon her cheek
and hold her for a while.
Because remembering her is easy,
I do it everyday,
But there is an ache within my heart
That will never go away.

Side Note:

This is a video from the bluegrass country music duo, Rory + Joey. Joey Feek is currently in hospice care after being diagnosed with cervical cancer. Read their blog, This Life I Live | scenes from one man’s extraordinary. ordinary life…

Here is their video  “When I’m Gone” (which inspired the title of his blog post), written by their friend Sandy Lawrence.

 

 

“Years ago, our friend Sandy Lawrence wrote a song for her mother who she was caring for as she was passing away,” he explained. “It was something she said she wrote to help her through her feelings – to help her heal.”

Now, Rory is turning to the same song to find comfort in letting his beloved wife go.

“Joey and I have asked to have ‘When I’m Gone’ added to our new ‘Hymns That Are Important To Us’ album that’s coming out in a couple of weeks in Cracker Barrel and most other places all around the country,” he added. “It’s not a classic hymn, but to us it is. It is a very special song, filled with hope and love. And in time, I believe it will have the power to help heal a million broken hearts…Even mine.” ~ Rory Feek

After hearing this song, I thought of my Mom and brother, Joe. My broken heart is getting better, but there are still times when I can hardly breathe. But the only peace I have right now is that they are together in heaven.

