R&B Song from the 90’s

If I Ever Fall in Love” (1992) by Shai.

 

How come I remember the words to songs from the 90’s, but I couldn’t tell you what I did last Wednesday.

 

You know…. Famous People Die in Three’s

“I smell cake.”*

WOW! What a past couple of weeks it’s been for the entertainment world. Actors and entertainers we grew up watching have been passing away.

I was getting ready to post something about Ken Howard, who died yesterday (22 Mar 2016), who starred in the TV show “White Shadow”.

image

But this afternoon, I read that comedian, Garry Shandling died at the age of 66.

image

I was a fan of his. I remember his show “It’s Garry Shandling’s Show.” There was one episode when Gilda Radner was on it. It was one of the funniest things I have ever seen on TV.

While fighting ovarian cancer, Gilda Radner guest-starred as herself on the show in 1988 in what would be her final television appearance. When Shandling asked her why she had not been seen on television for a while, Radner replied, “Oh, I had cancer. What did you have?” (From Wikipedia.com)

In these past couple of weeks, here are some other entertainers who gave dies:

March 23
Joe Garagiola, Sr., 90, American baseball player (Cardinals, Cubs, Pirates) and Hall of Fame sportscaster (MLB GOTW), World Series champion (1946).

March 18
Joe Santos, 84, American actor (The Rockford Files, The Friends of Eddie Coyle, The Last Boy Scout), heart attack.

March 17
Larry Drake, 66, American actor (L.A. Law, Johnny Bravo, Darkman), Emmy Award winner (1988, 1989).

March 16
Frank Sinatra, Jr., 72, American singer (That Face!) and actor (Hollywood Homicide), cardiac arrest.

I just can’t believe how many entertainers have passed away recently. At least the will live on with their performances for generations to come.

R.I.P.

* My brother, Joe and I would always say this to each other after someone famous died.

“I smell cake! If Uncle Bernie died, someone’s gonna have to go on a beer run!”— Dan Dorian

“My Cake” is the sixth episode of Scrubs’ fourth season. J.D.’s father dies and he and his brother Dan have to cope with it.

