I Smell Cake*

Gene Wilder, the star of classic comedies like Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory (1971) and several of Mel Brooks’ films, has died, on Monday, August 29, 2016. He was 83.

gene-wilder-willy-wonka

Even though he starred in many Mel Brooks movies Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein, my favorite movie he was in was Willy Wonka & the Chocolate Factory.

Just the other day on my drive back from Port Aransas, I was listen to one of my favorite songs, “Pure Imagination“. I think I must of listened to it at least 7 or 8 times.

A memory that I have from watching this movies is the time my friend, Rita, her boys and I watched the movie one afternoon. We deceided to buy all the Willy Wonka candy we could find and eat it while watching the movie. Well. best laid plans… we got 1/2 way throught the movies and we all O.D. on the candy. It was fun until you get to the moment were you cannot eat another piece of candy. We stopped eating the candy an continued to watch the movie.

R.I.P. Gene Wilder, you will e fondly remember for the movies that you made and the smiles you put on people’s faces.

Side Note:

* My brother, Joe and I would always say this to each other after someone famous died.

“I smell cake! If Uncle Bernie died, someone’s gonna have to go on a beer run!”— Dan Dorian

“My Cake” is the sixth episode of Scrubs’ fourth season. J.D.’s father dies and he and his brother Dan have to cope with it.

 

Leave a Reply

