Lydia M. Garza — Two Years

Lydia M. Garza (1940 - 2010)

January 10, 2012, it’s been two years since my mom, Lydia M. Garza died. It’s hard to believe that it has already been two years. Sometimes it feel longer and other times it feels like it just happened.

My life changed on January 10, 2010. I never knew that you could miss a person so much. This was the person who could make me happy, make me sad and make me mad. Oh, how she could press the buttons to set me off. What do they say, she knew what buttons to push because she put them there?

There are days when I can get through it without getting too sad when I think of you. But then there are other days when all I want to do is hide under my blankets. But on those days when I have happy memories of you, it makes me smile. Like when I made your Green Jell-O for the holidays. Or when I was going through all the treads you had for your sewing… did you really need all those different colors of white thread??

Today, my dad, brother and me are going to visit my mom at Fort Sam Houston National Cemetery. Here is a picture of her grave site when we went there for her birthday on November 17, 2011. Once again we will get yellow roses for her like we did for her on January 10, 2010.

Picture taken on 11.17.2011 for my mom's borthday.

I was trying to find the perfect song for how I am feeling today. The closest one I could find was “Missing You” by Diana Ross.

 

 

But now you’ve gone away boy
I feel so broken hearted
I knew the day we started
That we were meant to be
If only you’d let me!
I’ve cried so many tears
Gotta face now all my fears
We let time slip away
I need you boy
Here today!

So to all my family and friends and whoever reads my blog, make sure you give your mom a hugs. What I wouldn’t give just ot have one more hug from her.

Until we meet again mom, I miss you and I you more that I can say!

If Roses Grow in Heaven

If roses grow in Heaven Lord
Please pick a bunch for me.
Place them in my Mother’s arms
and tell her they’re from me.
Tell her I love her and miss her,
and when she turns to smile,
Place a kiss upon her cheek
and hold her for a while.
Because remembering her is easy,
I do it everyday,
But there is an ache within my heart
That will never go away.