Chuck Jackson (R&B singer)

Have you heard of this singer Chuck Jackson (R&B singer)? Well, I was looking for a song and somehow I found a song by Chuck Johnson,
“Any Day Now (My Wild Beautiful Bird)” (1962).

Chuck Jackson

Chuck Jackson

Chuck Jackson (born July 22, 1937) is an R&B singer who was one of the first artists to record material by Burt Bacharach and Hal David successfully. He has performed with moderate success since 1961. His hits include “I Don’t Want to Cry,” “Any Day Now,” “I Keep Forgettin’” and “All Over the World”. (from Wikipedia.com)

 

 

First of all, I love this song. I thing the first time I heard it was when Ronnie Milsap sang it in 1982 . Then I found a version by Elvis Presley who sang it in 1969 and that one become my favorite version.

Second, I didn’t know that Burt Bacharach co-wrote this song! I swear, I’m the last to know!

Thirdly, how come I have never heard of Chuck Jackson or any of his songs? Again, the last one to know.

I’m glad that I have been finding all these different artist and songs when I go searching for a song. There is so much good music out there for me to find!

Side notes:

Chuck Jackson Official Website

Other versions (from Wikipedia.com)

  • Bill Medley included this song on his 1969 album Soft and Soulful.
  • Country singer Don Gibson also released a version of “Any Day Now,” which reached the Top 40 of the Billboard country music chart in 1979.
  • Singer Percy Sledge recorded “Any Day Now” in 1969, and this version reached thirty-five on the Billboard R&B chart and eighty-six on the Hot 100.[3].
  • James Brown included a version of “Any Day Now” on his 1969 album “It’s a Mother”.