Make Cake in a Mug

I think I found my next thing I want to make… Make Cake in a Mug.

I saw a recipe for this on my niece. Pam’s refrigerator and I didn’t get a chance to write down the recipe. So I Googled it and I found this one. I even have all of the ingredients to make it. So I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Make Cake in a Mug

What you need:

  • A microwave oven
  • A large microwavable mug
  • A tablespoon for measuring
  • 4 Tablespoons flour
  • 9 Tablespoons hot chocolate mix
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tablespoons water
  • 3 Tablespoons oil
  • Cooking Spray

Makes enough for one enormous serving.

Spray a little cooking spray into the mug.

Measure out the flour, hot chocolate mix and salt into the mug. Stir.

Crack the egg into the mug. Stir a bit after adding the egg so the cup doesn’t overflow.

Add water and oil.

Stir until thoroughly moistened. Make sure to scrape the bottom of the mug with your spoon to avoid any leftover pockets of dry ingredients.

Bake

Put the mug in the microwave on high and set the timer for 3 minutes.

As it bakes, a cylinder of cake will start to rise out of the mug. Way cool!

When done, it will settle back into the mug.

Serve

The handle of the mug may be hot, so use a potholder to remove it from the microwave.

 

Tip your cake cylinder out of the mug into a dish. Your cake may look a little damp and wrinkled. This is normal.

Use a fork to break it up into quarters. This will allow steam in the center to escape. Arrange so that the more attractive interior of the cake is showing.

Enjoy your Treat

Make sure the cake has cooled enough to eat before digging in. Add whipped cream or ice cream if desired.

Variation

For added sweetness and gooeyness, after you mix up the batter throw in a few chocolate chips. They may sink to the bottom, but they will taste fine. Mini marshmallows also add a great taste to the cake. They do tend to bubble out, so be sure to protect your microwave tray with paper towel for easy clean-up.

If you want a glaze-like layer on the outside of the cake, try using some chocolate or butterscotch syrup. This absorbs into the cake and makes it more sweet and delicious.

A Little Healthier

Didn’t want to throw my nutrition degree out the window, so I made the cake with whole wheat flour, canola oil and sugar-free, calcium fortified hot chocolate. Plus I replaced half the oil with applesauce. Just as delicious!

Recipe from http://howto.wired.com/wiki/Make_Cake_in_a_Mug.