Do you remember… Time for Timer?

If you are a child of the 80’s and you watched cartoons an ABC during the 70’s. You should remember who Time for Timer is.

Time for Timer was the collective title for a short series of public service announcements broadcast on Saturday mornings on the ABC television network starting in the early 1970s. The animated spots featured Timer, a tiny (often ranging on microscopic) cartoon character who represented the sense of “time” in the human body.

I remember sitting glued to the TV every time Timer come on. Who could forget “I Hanker for a Hunk of Cheese” or “You Are What You Eat“? Or my favorite “Sunshine on a Stick” (how to make ice pops with fruit juice, an ice tray, and toothpicks).

I think I tried to make these when I was a kid, but I was too impatient to wait till they froze. I might make an adult version of them now. Freeze orange juice, lemonade or pomegranate juice or what ever turns me on…(did Timer really say that in the PSA??) — minus the toothpicks. After they freeze, put them in a glass with a little vodka!

Now that is what I call “Sunshine in a glass”!