Cupid Shuffle

Sometimes I may not be the smartest, coolest or hippest person around (OK, I’m really not any of these things!) But when I went to the San Antonio Silver Star games this summer, they would play this song and I never heard it outside of the arena. I liked the song, but I could never hear the lyrics of the song and they wouldn’t say who sang that song.

Well, one of those times at the game, I hear this some of the words to the song and wrote them down — because I can’t remember anything, I have the attention span of a gnat!! So when I got home, I Googled it and I found the song!! It was Cupid Shuffle by Cupid

Cupid Shuffle is a song by Cupid. It has spawned a popular line dance and has drawn a lot of comparison to DJ Casper‘s “Cha Cha Slide.” The dance is becoming popular, especially in hip hop dance circles and the song is known for its bass line.

In the United States, the song has thus far peaked at #66 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #21 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart, both in the August 18, 2007 issue.

Now, I heard of “Cha Cha Slide” and knew it was similar, but since I didn’t know any of the words it didn’t help me. So now I have found it on YouTube and found three different versions of the song.

Now, I might be a year late on finding out about this song, but I have it on my iPod and it’s becoming one of my most played songs. I can even do a mean “chair dance” to the song!

To the right, to the right, to the right, to the right
To the left, to the left, to the left, to the left
Now kick, now kick, now kick, now kick
Now walk it by yourself, now walk it by yourself